cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clientless Core Web Access required to access Sharepoint, etc?

Not applicable

Clientless Core Web Access required to access Sharepoint, etc?

I'm a mechanical engineering consultant, and I need to give customers, vendors, and partners access to my network. I am running Windows Small Business Server 2003, and critical applications are Exchange, Sharepoint, Terminal Server, and Remote Desktop. All of these are part of the vanilla SBS 2003 installation.

Ease of setup is critical - especially for customers - so SSL VPN seems to be the right choice for me. I am talking with a couple of IT vendors and resellers, but I am trying to educate myself at the same time. I've read through a lot of the sales literature on Juniper's site, and I am beginning to grasp the capabilities and limitations of the available systems. I would appreciate if the participants here could confirm or correct the following for me:

(1) User licensing is based on concurrent users, not named users. So if I purchase a 10-user license, I could create as many named accounts for customers, vendors, and partners as required, but only 10 of them could be logged in at a time.

(2) I am considering the SA700. The Clientless Core Web Access option is required for my users to be able to access the Exchange Server, Sharepoint Server, and Terminal Server (have I forgotten anything?) that is provided as part of my Small Business Server installation.

I _really_ hope that the second one isn't true. If it is, are IP/SEC VPNs crippled in this same way? And what _can_ users do with the base system and no CCWA option? I'm basing my understanding on this description of the option, from the Juniper site:

Clientless Core Web access

- Access to Web-based applications,
including JavaScript, XML, or Flashbased
apps and Java applets, as
well as e-mail, Windows and UNIX file
share, telnet/SSH hosted-applications,
Citrix and Windows Terminal Services,