cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firmware Version

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Firmware Version

I currently have a single SA 4000 running 6.0R4-2 and I've had some bad experiences in the past trying to upgrade to different Juniper releases. I'm now replacing my 4000 with 2 4500's in a cluster.

Any recommendations on which code to be running?

Thanks,

Kevin

7 REPLIES 7
Frequent Contributor

Re: Firmware Version

Hi Kevin,

We've been running 6.3r2 without issue and also have our SA's integrated into the NSM. However, 6.3R4 has a few cluster related fixes. So I would recommend either upgrading to 6.0r10 or if you're looking to add new features try 6.3R4. Either way, I would be sure to check the release notes for addressed and unresolved issues.

I hope this helps.

-John

Highlighted
New Contributor

I too agree with . 6.3R4 would be a better choice as Secure Access 2500, 4500, and 6500 appliances require software versions 6.1 or later. More over latest releases will be supported for a long time.

-Ravikiran

Highlighted
Contributor

I just did an upgrade of a 4000 cluster from 6.0r8 to 6.3r4 yesterday. Upgrade went smooth. Had to update the AV hostcheck (see my other post on subject). I learned the hard way that upgrading users Network Connect is problematic, so I pushed the ne NC via SMS ahead of time, and I check the " Restrict access to Admins only" setting in Signing In tab.

6.3r4 gives me an option for Citrix Web Interface 4.6. I put in the custom cookie headers described in the IVE How To Citrix doc that works with 6.0. I need to test the 4.6 option to make sure nothing breaks.

Only mistake was that I was upgrading the IVE over a NC tunnel, and when I check the restrict access, my NC session when down. Oops. I was doing the upgrade from a machine I was RDP'ing to, but lost connection before I could kick off the upgrade process. Next time I will need to VPN to a firewall first, then kick it off!

Highlighted