Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Host Checker Issues after ESAP 2.7.6

Morgan300_
Not applicable

Host Checker Issues after ESAP 2.7.6

Hi All,

I work in an environment where I am a delegated Admin on a Juniper SA Device.  I am not sure which model, but the System Software Package Version is 7.1R9 (build 20893).

I know the SA device is at EOL and can not be upgraded to any version later than 7.1R9 (build 20893).

As I am only a delegated admin, I do not have many rights to the system itself, just to my partition.

Here is the problem:

A couple of days ago the Admin of the SA installed the latest version of the ESAP (2.7.6).  This resulted in all the workstations downloading an updated UnifiedSDK.zip file (normal behavior, been done a hundred times in the past) and all our machines promptly broke.

Looking at the connection logs, we could see the session get intiated and the primary and secondary passwords being accepted.  At this point we usually see the results of the host checker being parsed and then roles being applied based on the results of the parsing.  After the upgrade the log files never got parsed by the SA device.  It's as if the Client machine never delivered the Host Checker results to the SA device.

On the client side what would happen is that the Host Checker would launch, the hard drive lights would start flickering, indicationg that the host checker was working, then after a minute or so the machine would go quiet, indicating that the Host Checker had completed.  All this is normal behavior.  But instead of connectig to the SA device, the host checker would relaunch and the process would start again.  This happened about 4 or 5 times and then we got returned to the login page with an "Invalid username or password" message (even though the SA connection logs showed that the passwords were already confirmed).