cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to completely reset SAM for a single user?

Occasional Visitor

How to completely reset SAM for a single user?

Hi,

 

I would like to reset SAM 8.1.15.59747 settings for a single non-Admin user on a Win '10 Pro 1903 PC, as if the user had never used it before.

 

The first time a non-Admin user runs a SAM application (after an Admin has installed it and run it first on that PC), you get this prompt:

Setup Control - Warning
Do you want to download, install, and/or execure software from the following server?
Product name: Secure Application Manager
Software name: samsetupnt.exe
Server name: <>
Always / Yes / No

 

This is an indication that this user has never used SAM before.

 

I want to reset Juniper/Pulse Secure settings so that the next time this user launches the application, all previous user settings will be deleted, it will have a clean blank slate, and it will get this prompt again. There is an uninstall.exe in "C:\Users\<>\AppData\Roaming\Juniper Networks\Setup Client\", but it just deletes files, it leaves the registry settings.

 

Why do I want to delete the user settings?

 

Because there is a bug where a brand new user on a 1903 PC works, but a user whose settings were transferred over from a Win7 PC via USMT will not work. On the same PC.

 

Logical explanation? It's a user setting.

 

So... wiping the user's Juniper settings and logging in again should solve that problem.

 

How do you do it?

 

Thanks in advance.