cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Split tunneling option

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Split tunneling option

Hello,

I've read the admin guide, and make some tests, but I don't see the difference between:

Enable Split Tunneling with allowed access to local subnet

Enable Split Tunneling

Both keep the default route and local routes....

Any idea?

Regards


2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Super Contributor

Re: Split tunneling option

When the "allowed access to local subnet" is selected the local subnet will always win in routing decisions. This is defined as the network and mask assigned to the local computer nic.

Normally in split tunnel the network list downloaded to the computer will override any local routing table options and send traffic up through the tunnel. If there is an overlap in this tunnelled traffic list with the local subnet you will lose access to local resources like printers and file shares.

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA (Metro-Ethernet & ISP) - http://puluka.com/home
Respected Contributor

Re: Split tunneling option

+1 to spuluka
There is no response other than with local subnet allowed, the route table is not rewritten from scratch (which will disrupt shared drives/printers, for example)