cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

This appliance does not have permission to edit this connection set, because it is not the current.

Occasional Visitor

This appliance does not have permission to edit this connection set, because it is not the current.

Hi All

We have an appliance which is not updating its connection set connection details.

We want to add another connection to an existing connection set but when we done this we noticed that when in Pulse Secure connecting to the other unit on our laptop with the desktop app would remove the connection set.

 

Is the best method to take ownership or do a push/export xml and import it?

 

Is there anything to be aware of when doing this, will it drop connections for our 200+ connected users.

1 REPLY 1
Pulser

Re: This appliance does not have permission to edit this connection set, because it is not the curre

Connection Sets should be created and edited only on one device and then copied/pushed to other devices.

 

PCS8.2R3, PPS5.3R3 and Pulse Desktop 5.2R3 have improvments to help with managing connection sets, https://www.pulsesecure.net/download/techpubs/current/714/pulse-connect-secure/pcs/8.2rx/Pulse-Secur...

 

"Simplified Large-scale Deployments (5.2r3)
• The 8.2r3 PCS gateway, the 5.3r3 PPS gateway, and the 5.2r3 Pulse Secure desktop client contain enhancements that help system administrators adhere to large-scale configuration best practices, and simplify diagnosis of deployment issues."

 

 

Before these versions the behaviour was that when the Save/Activate button is clicked, the configuration is saved on the server and the configuration is pushed to the clients. Pushing the configuration to the clients can cause them to disconnect and reconnect all at the same time, possibly leading to a connection storm.

 

With the Large Scale Deployment changes clients will update the connection set when they connect next time after the change has been saved in the connection Set.  There is a button 'Update Clients...' on the Connection Set page which will force the selected Connection Set to be pushed to all connected clients, causing them to disconnect and reconnect.