cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two SA 4000 DNS Round Robin

bambam_
Occasional Contributor

Two SA 4000 DNS Round Robin

I'm a newbie so go easy on me. I'm stepping in the middle of a project for a client who would like to have two SA 4000 boxes work properly in a DNS round robin setup. One box is in one physical location and the other is at a seperate physical location. They would like to use one host name to round robin between both boxes. The client has configured DNS at their web host to point to both external IPs, and nslookup from outside the network shows both. Here is the issue, it sometimes takes up to 10 minutes to actually receive the login page on either box and sometimes we don't receive the login page at all. Both boxes work fine going direct to IP and using the host name works fine if it is setup to resolve to just one box. Host checker is set to run before presenting the login page and that is the page that seems to "stick" for that 10 minute delay. Is this something that can be done? Thanks for any help.
15 REPLIES 15
gdavies_
Occasional Contributor

Re: Two SA 4000 DNS Round Robin

Hi bambam,

This is just a guess, but I suspect that you're resolving to different addresses part way through the process so you're sending packets initially to box-A and then, part way through the process, you start sending other packets required to complete the process to box-B. Since box-B didn't see the first part of the exchange, it will probably drop the packets as part of an unrecognised session and box-A will sit there waiting patiently for the packets to arrive. When it works, I suspect that you've tried to create the connection to box-B and eventually given up and re-resolved and gone back to box-A, which says "where have you been" and finally completes the login.