Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iOS question, identifying client...

Highlighted
New Contributor

iOS question, identifying client...

Hello,

I'm new to all of this VPN stuff, so please bare with me.

I would like to let our iPad users connect to our network via Junos Pulse, be we have a policy that states:

1) Only our computers can connect

2) the suer needs to authenticate with a password to conenct

So, I see how we can use a certificate or a password, but that doesn't help. For Mac/Linux/Windows we use host checker to looks for various stuff that only our computers have. Is there a way we can do anything to validate the iPad and then have the user submit a U/P to connect?

Thanks,

Allan

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Re: iOS question, identifying client...

You are welcome; good luck!

Thank you for letting me know how it goes.

Contributor

You'r speaking about Full authentication of devices by Certificates, why aren't you aproaching following Idea?

You can Use Device Certificate for Identification of Corporate Devices.(For lost Devices there should be a CRL in place)

This way you would have to have the exactly Certificate on the Corporate Device + Username and the Password.

regards

Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Not at this time, no.

There is no Host Checking allowed for the iOS devices and the Junos Pulse application does only one type of auth (cert or username+password).

Have you forwarded the query/information to your SE for them to work with you on an enhancement request for this type of functionality on the iOS family?

Highlighted
New Contributor

no, haven't sent the question to juniper yet. I was hoping for an easy answer?

Highlighted
Respected Contributor

Checking the posture of the iOS device (Host Checking) is not supported by Apple.

Highlighted
Contributor