Upgrading on OSx sierra stops the desktop app from working correctly, however it works fine beforehand.
Since this has been a reoccurring problem with your client-side applications over the last couple of years, I would like to be able to complete turn off the afforementioned prompt until said problems are resolved and /or I wish to manually update.
Why can there not just be a check for updates checkbox and a settings panel?
Re: How do I disable the persistent upgrade prompt.
The following prompt is controlled by the PCS / PPS administrator. Also, we are making further improvement in our next major release in 8.3/5.4 so the administrator can enforce an min. version of Pulse Desktop for any user connecting to their device.
If you are the admin, the following option can be disabled under System > Options > uncheck "Enable web installation and automatic upgrade of Pulse Secure clients". The behavior change would be client will no longer see the prompt, but also the end user would no longer be able to downloaded the Pulse client from the web interface. This is only recommended if the admin is decided to deploy the Pulse client outside of the PCS/PPS environment like group policy or other means.
If you an end user, there is no way to disable the following prompt. Please talk to your PCS/PPS administrator.