cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

SOLVED
TechUserRC
Occasional Contributor

Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

Is there any command line method of removing all user profiles from Pulse Secure Client?

I have seen entries indicating that jamCommand -deleteconnection would partially accomplish this but I need to explicitly enter the name of the profile. [jamCommand -deleteconnection ProfileName]

How can I completely remove all user entries so that I can maintain just the entry created from a PulsePreconfig file?

 

macOS

Pulse Secure Client v9.1.10 (5655)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
r@yElr3y
Moderator

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

@TechUserRC Manual user connections can be removed if you push a preconfiguration with user-connection value set to False. So, you have to push a preconfig with only machine settings having user-connection: "false" which would delete all the manual connections created by the users, and then push the actual preconfig file.

 

If you don't want users to create any manual connection, then you can use a single preconfig with the value set to false + connections...!

 

sample preconfig excerpt:

 

allow-save: "true"
user-connection: "false"
lock-down: "false"
splashscreen-display: "true"
dynamic-trust: "true"
dynamic-connection: "true"

 

Hope this helps.

PCS Expert
Pulse Connect Secure Certified Expert

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
flipPipe
Frequent Contributor

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

Hi,

 

I do not know how to easly delete all stuff... deleting the connection always leaves some identifiers from PCS.

 

What I've to my users, was to make available the PulsePreconfig, and then ask to apply it manually

 

jamCommand -importfile VPN.config

 

This will delete all previous configuration and apply the new configurations as new installation.

zanyterp
Moderator

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

as @flipPipe indicated, no, it is not possible to manually remove connections through jamCommand or the terminal
you will need to manually import the preconfig file to overwrite any existing setting
TechUserRC
Occasional Contributor

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

Importing the PulsePreConfig file appears to merely add an entry but does not appear to remove the manually created profiles.

 

I have been adding them using the following command:

sudo /Applications/Pulse\ Secure.app/Contents/Plugins/JamUI/jamCommand -importfile /path/to/folder/Profile.pulsepreconfig

TechUserRC
Occasional Contributor

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles


@zanyterp wrote:
as @flipPipe indicated, no, it is not possible to manually remove connections through jamCommand or the terminal
you will need to manually import the preconfig file to overwrite any existing setting

This appears to be innacurate as I am able to manually remove connections via jamCommand, but I need to specify the name of the manually created connection in the following command. It just cannot be used to remove profiles created by file import.

 

jamCommand -deleteconnection ProfileName

TechUserRC
Occasional Contributor

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

As a side note. The Pulse Secure documentation on jamCommand doesnt even include information regarding the -deleteconnection option.

 

https://docs.pulsesecure.net/WebHelp/PDC/9.1R5/index.html#t=pdc-admin-guide%2FDeploying%2FDeploying....

 

https://docs.pulsesecure.net/WebHelp/PDC/9.0R1/Content/PDC_AdminGuide_9.0R1/jamCommand_Reference.htm

 

https://www-prev.pulsesecure.net/download/techpubs/current/2266/pulse-client/pulse-secure-client-des... (page 77)

 

It is a bit concerning when there are options for an application that aren't documented.

zanyterp
Moderator

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

hi @TechUserRC,

apologies on misunderstanding your intent; i read it as looking to delete anything user-added wholesale and not connection-by-connection
zanyterp
Moderator

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

thank you for bringing that to our attention; i will open a case with our documentation team to have it checked
r@yElr3y
Moderator

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

@TechUserRC Manual user connections can be removed if you push a preconfiguration with user-connection value set to False. So, you have to push a preconfig with only machine settings having user-connection: "false" which would delete all the manual connections created by the users, and then push the actual preconfig file.

 

If you don't want users to create any manual connection, then you can use a single preconfig with the value set to false + connections...!

 

sample preconfig excerpt:

 

allow-save: "true"
user-connection: "false"
lock-down: "false"
splashscreen-display: "true"
dynamic-trust: "true"
dynamic-connection: "true"

 

Hope this helps.

PCS Expert
Pulse Connect Secure Certified Expert

View solution in original post

TechUserRC
Occasional Contributor

Re: Pulse Secure macOS Delete All User Profiles

Thanks! That worked.

 

I created a new pulsepreconfig file using the user-connection: "false" flag and that removed all manual entries after restarting the application.

 

Additionally, when I re-ran the pulsepreconfig import using a file containing user-connection: "true" it restored the ability to create\edit\remove profiles without restoring those that were previously removed.

 

It's a bit of a roundabout process but it works, and works well.

 

Thanks again!