cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Push out Client Configuration

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Push out Client Configuration

How can I push out a client configuration for the desktop client.

 

I have a role called "Test" and a Pulse Client config that allowed saving passwords. When I disable allowing saving passwords, I'm still able to? It doesn't seem to be actually updating the config at all.

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
New Contributor

Re: Push out Client Configuration

Hi, @DaveG.  I opened a case on 6/15/2018 regarding this issue and, as surprising as it sounds, I was told that is not supported.  The "Allow saving logon information" setting you changed is for clients using the .pulsepreconfig files (bound clients).  It does not apply to users that manually create configurations (unbound clients).

 

Yep, you heard that right... the end user has direct control over a very significant security setting.  Smiley Surprised

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Re: Push out Client Configuration

Hi @gb2939 , thank you for that. This seems to match everything that I've read.

 

It's hugely fustrating that we can't force client to be binded to the server that way.

Highlighted
Community Manager

Re: Push out Client Configuration

The admin can disable manual connection by unchecking the option for "Allows user to create connections via the Pulse UI."

 

This would be pushed down when the end user connects for the first time or via the preconfig.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Re: Push out Client Configuration

Thanks @kita but this doesn't seem to work

 

Manual install, no preconfig

Install Pulse Desktop Client 

Role set to use that connection

Connects

Nothing updates and connection.dat doesn't show any type of binding at all.

 

I could be missing something though.