cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie question on installing app on older phone.

SOLVED
Highlighted
New Contributor

Newbie question on installing app on older phone.

Hi all.

Please bear with me as I am totally new to this subject, my knowledge on it is about zero and I do not currently have access to the helpful info issued by my employer to provide specific details, but I will try to explain my question as best I can.

My question is related to remote working and I understand that the way it works is that one of your apps is downloaded and installed from GooglePlay? and every time I wish to log onto to my PC, I would be issued a new code via the app which I would then use to log on.

If it is an older phone which your latest app does not support (version 4.3 Android for example), do I just download an older app from yourselves or external website and install that instead? If so, is any kind of registration/login still required with Google?

Also, is an Internet connection only required on the phone in the individual instances where a new code is required or does there need to be a connection to the Internet for the entire duration of the session whilst working on the PC?

Sorry for not being able to be more specific and thank you for any assistance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Newbie question on installing app on older phone.

Since Google Authenticator and Pulse Client are two different applications which has to be installed on the mobile device to make it work, right... G.Auth for token generation & Pulse Client for VPN.

If you've Pulse Client installed, then you can try to install Google Authenticator from the play store or you can install/side-load both applications using direct APK file i.e old version which is compatible with your phone version, if the Google Playstore states that you're phone is incompatible.
PCS Expert
Pulse Connect Secure Certified Expert

View solution in original post